Queen’s University Belfast

Full Partner

Queen’s University Belfast, University Road, Belfast BT7 1NN, United Kingdom

Contact  info
Tel: +44 (0)28 9024 5133
Web: www.qub.ac.uk

Contact person for housing, travel, etc. 
Tara Spencer
Centre for Theoretical Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics, School of Mathematics and Physics, Queen’s University Belfast, Belfast BT7 1NN, United Kingdom
Tel: +44 (0)28 9097 6001
Fax: +44 (0)28 9097 6061
Email: t.spencer (at) qub.ac.uk

Useful Links
School of Mathematics and Physics – www.qub.ac.uk/mp
Centre for Theoretical Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics – web.am.qub.ac.uk/ctamop/

About the Institution
Queen’s is one of the leading universities in the UK and Ireland, providing world-class education underpinned by world-class research. Founded as Queen’s College in 1845, it became a university in its own right in 1908. Today, it is an international centre of research and education rooted at the heart of Northern Ireland. With more than 17,000 students and 3,500 staff, it is a dynamic and diverse institution, a magnet for inward investment, a patron of the arts and a global player in areas ranging from cancer studies to sustainability, and from pharmaceuticals to creative writing. Queen’s University Belfast is a member of the Russell Group of the UK’s 20 leading research-intensive universities.

The University is playing an increasingly important role in economic development. Its research plays a pivotal role in underpinning Northern Ireland’s industrial base and it makes a significant contribution to wealth and job creation. Around 50 companies have emanated from Queen’s research, creating over 1,000 jobs.

More than 70 countries are represented in the student community and a high proportion of its academic staff are from outside Northern Ireland. Queen’s family of 100,000 graduates are making their mark all over the world in fields as diverse as physics, surgery, civil engineering, agriculture, archaeology and music.

The University is central to the artistic and cultural life of Northern Ireland. The Ulster Bank Belfast Festival at Queen’s, the internationally-acclaimed showcase of the performing and visual arts, is one of the bedrocks of the University’s contribution to the community. The University is also home to the Naughton Gallery at Queen’s, and to a full-time cinema, the Queen’s Film Theatre. The Seamus Heaney Centre for Poetry underpins Queen’s reputation as a world literary force.

The School of Mathematics and Physics is a large School within the Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences comprising sixty full time academics, fifty research fellows, one hundred postgraduate students and twenty-five support staff. The annual intake of mathematics and physics undergraduates combined is about one hundred and eighty. Under research the School operates as seven Research Centres: the Astrophysics Research Centre, the Atomistic Simulation Research Centre, the Centre for Nanostructured Media, the Centre for Plasma Physics, the Centre for Statistical Science and Operational Research, the Pure Mathematics Research Centre and the Centre for Theoretical Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics. There is a considerable crossover between these areas and the ethos of the School is one of excellence in research informing excellence in teaching.

About the Groupleaders

Professor Ken Taylor
Web: http://www.qub.ac.uk/schools/SchoolofMathematicsandPhysics/Staff/StaffInfo/?id=14
Email: k.taylor (at) qub.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)28 9097 6032

Dr H. W. van der Hart
Web: http://www.qub.ac.uk/schools/SchoolofMathematicsandPhysics/Staff/StaffInfo/?id=46
Email: h.vanderhart (at) qub.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)28 9097 6048

The Centre for Theoretical Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics carries out research in three areas: attosecond science, electron and positron scattering with atoms and ions, and quantum information processing. The Research Centre has 10 permanent members of staff at present.

The CORINF project mainly relates to research carried out within attosecond science. Two well-established methods have been developed over the last 20 years within the Centre: the HELIUM code for the full-dimensional description of the two-electron helium atom in intense light fields [1], and the R-matrix-Floquet approach for general atoms in strong light fields [2]. These methods have been highly successful in the description of new physics. The HELIUM code has been applied to demonstrate the existence of double above-threshold-ionization processes [3]. The accuracy of the code was demonstrated through a comparison with experiment on the energy spectra for electrons emitted during single ionization and during double ionization [4]. The R-matrix-Floquet codes were applied to obtain one of the first sets of results for two-photon double ionization of helium [5].

Recently, we have developed the world-leading time-dependent R-matrix (TDRM) theory for multi-electron atoms in intense light fields [6] and combined it with the finite-difference techniques developed for the HELIUM code in the R-matrix with time-dependence (RMT) code [7]. These techniques are now being applied to investigate how electron correlation affects atomic dynamics on the (sub)femtosecond timescale.

Prof. Taylor has been a full professor at Queen’s University Belfast since 1993. His research focuses on theoretical and computational approaches to understand light-matter interactions. He has led the development and application of the HELIUM. This code has been particularly efficient in exploiting the parallelism offered by high-end computational facilities. Prof. Taylor’s expertise on finite-difference techniques and their computational implementation is now exploited in the outer region of the RMT codes.

Dr. van der Hart has been at Queen’s University Belfast since 1999, and as a reader since 2006. During this time, he has led the development and application of R-matrix techniques to atomic processes in intense light fields, including the R-matrix-Floquet approach and time-dependent R-matrix theory. This latter approach provides the inner region approach for the RMT codes.

[1] E.S. Smyth, J.S. Parker and K.T. Taylor, Comp. Phys. Comm. 114 (1998) 1
[2] P.G. Burke, P. Francken and C.J. Joachain, J. Phys. B 24 (1991) 761
[3] J.S. Parker, L.R. Moore, K.J. Meharg, D. Dundas, K.T. Taylor, J. Phys. B 34 (2001) L69
[4] J.S. Parker et al, Phys. Rev. Lett. 96 (2006) 133001
[5] L. Feng and H.W. van der Hart, J. Phys. B 36 (2003) L1
[6] M.A. Lysaght, H.W. van der Hart and P.G. Burke, Phys. Rev. A 79 (2009) 053411
[7] L.R. Moore et al, J. Mod. Opt. 58 (2011) 1132